Who knew?

Dear Diary,

In my Walden game I have to periodically go foraging for food which is difficult once the pond freezes and all the berries are gone.  I discovered that the Stag Horn Sumac is a source of food, I had no idea!  Well, actually, it is more a spice than a food.  It is sometimes called the Lemonade Tree because the berries have a very lemony flavor and you can made a drink from it.  There is a poison Sumac variety but you can't mix it up with this one as it has white berries not these velvety red ones.
These sumac are behind the Town Office and are an impressive size.  September is their peak time but they continue well into the winter. 

Emerson came home yesterday and I am so happy to have him back with me.  The house seemed so empty without him.  Our hot weather continues for one more day and tonight a cold front will come in and bring us back to fall. It will also push Hurricane Maria away from New England and I am happy about that too.  I am also interviewing a young woman this morning who may be able to help me with household chores after my surgery.  That will be wonderful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.