Kindreds

Dear Diary,

Henry Thoreau was known to have an incredible connection to animals.  There is the famous story of the mouse who built a nest under his cabin at Walden and who would come and listen when Henry played his flute.  It would also take bits of bread and cheese from his hand.  Crows were known to come and sit on his shoulder.  He was called the St Francis of Concord.  He called these creatures his "kindred's". 

I certainly can relate to that, with all the various "kindred spirits" that visit my house.  I do think of them that way.  This little tree frog was stuck to my dining room door.  Not the best photograph but it does clearly show its little suction cup feet and his belly is almost translucent.  You can see some internal organs.  He didn't seem too disturbed by my examination and photograph of him.  I hadn't seen a tree frog for years and now I have seen two in the last month!

What I didn't know about Henry is that he named his kindred's too!  His favorite was "Jean Lapin", a hare that visited him from time to time at Walden.  My book is providing all sorts of new insights into this amazing man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.