Wakey, Wakey!

Dear Diary,

What a change in the temperature.  The predicted cold front came through on Wednesday night and this morning it is only 38F!  Wednesday morning it was 62F!  These cool mornings you can always find a bee who has fallen asleep on a flower.  They won't stir until the sun warms them sufficiently so they can continue their work.  I have found them fast asleep in the Rose of Sharon flowers but this one fell asleep on the back of a sunflower.  I can't understand how he didn't fall off!

I suspect this will be my last bee portrait this season.  Already their numbers are decreasing as the flowers die.  The asters are still blooming but not much else.  Matt will be here next Wednesday to start the fall cut back.  I will do it a bit early this year so everything will be done before I have my surgery.

I have not seen Philomena for a couple of weeks and I am terribly worried about her.  I know she was 4 years old but I hoped she might make it through another winter in the stone wall.  I have seen two very small chippies scurrying around but no Philly.  These young ones don't quite get the seed bowls either.  With Philly I would put out two bowls of seeds and they would be empty in half and hour.  Now, it takes all day to empty them.  I haven't seen Gaylord either but that doesn't concern me as much as he is probably busy in the woods with the acorns.  But my Philly...


This is the last photograph I took of Philly, before I left for Ogunquit. (Extra) I know that her time has probably come and I hope she passed away in her sleep, deep in her burrow behind the stone wall.  I will think of her that way.  I am sure I will come to love and recognize these young ones eventually but Philly was so special, a true Kindred Spirit.  I will miss her sweet wee face…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.