Why do they do it?

Dear Diary,

Back in the day they called it "laying rubber" or maybe "peeling out".  There are a lot of these tire marks on the roads around here.  The young people, apparently, think it is very cool to make their tires squeal and deposit a part of the tread on the road.  Sigh...the folly of youth I guess.

I started driving when I was 11.  My grandfather let me drive his car around the property.  We had a good size piece of land.  Brave man.  I could barely see over the dash board of his 1949 Packard!  I got my learner's permit at 15 1/2 and my license the day after I turned 16.  Driving was our first badge of adulthood.

Dotty drove until she was 93.  At her memorial service her granddaughter spoke of how she and her sister-in-law would drive everywhere together.  Dotty would keep her eye on the yellow line and Greeta would watch the white one!  They were the Thelma and Louise of Kezar Falls!  That really made us laugh.  A good rule to live by, always travel with a friend and "keep it between the lines"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.