Still Life

A grumpy day.

I was awake in the middle of the night, so slept an hour later than I wanted to and was behind schedule all day.

The Trump v Clinton thing irritated me - not because I watched it but because the rest of the world deserves better leadership than either of those sleazeballs can offer. US voters can take their chances. It's like gun control. They'll never change.

The Scottish media got right up my nose too. A ship arrived here carrying shale gas from the USA to be refined here. You'd think a manned flight had landed on Mars, or Scotland had won the football world cup. I mean, it's a ship. With ethane in it.    

An honourable exception must go to the National. It printed pro and anti fracking columns in such a way as to make the frackers seem like money grabbing b*stards. Actually, maybe they managed it all by themselves.

The key bit however, was a description of the lavish hospitality the refining company gave to the press. A night in a top hotel, a 5 star dinner, a 5 star lunch after their wee sail on the ship. It explains a lot. Well done to the National for shining some light on their grubby world.

On a more positive note, I saw the Fionnphort - Iona ferry (amongst others) was suspended this afternoon due to high winds. Having used it a few times in June, it struck a cord and reminded me of this YouTube clip.

Ferry

The Blip is just some left over summer colour from my garden.

OK, I'm off to kick the cat now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.