a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Wild is the wind

Tiny Tuesday : Wild is the Wind

"Love me, love me, love me, say you do
Let me fly away with you
For my love is like the wind, and wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
Give me more than one caress, satisfy this hungriness
Let the wind blow through your heart
For wild is the wind, wild is the wind


You touch me, 
I hear the sound of mandolins
You kiss me
With your kiss my life begins
You're spring to me, all things to me
Don't you know, you're life itself!


Like the leaf clings to the tree,
Oh, my darling, cling to me
For we're like creatures of the wind, and wild is the wind
Wild is the wind"

David Bowie ~ Wild is the Wind

I always used to think that Bowie wrote this song, but learned not so long ago that it was in fact written by Dimitri Tiomkin and Ned Washington. The track was originally recorded by Johnny Mathis for the 1957 film Wild Is the Wind. David covered it (brilliantly) on his 1976 album Station to Station.

The song reference was brought about by my attempt to find a Tiny Tuesday blip late this evening in the breezy garden.  I initially thought that I would be blipping autumnal seeds, only to come to this crane fly, or Daddy Longlegs, which was clinging hard to a leaf in the breeze.  In fact it had practically wrapped its legs around the leaf to try to avoid being blown away.  Wild is the wind indeed!

With thanks to our host Debbie (dbifulco) who is in charge of Tiny Tuesday this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.