Jackie

Tomorrow Jackie Giulianotti, the Scottish Parliament's Head of Allowances, will retire after more than 17 years in the job.

When I was elected to the first Parliament in 1999 I became the SNP's Business Manager. In that role I had to take through the Parliament the first allowances scheme because the then Labour Finance Minister, Jack MacConnell, renaged on his commitment to lead the process - playing one of his usual student politics games by trying to land the SNP with the opprobrium of the tabloid press.

Jackie was the Parliament official who helped me through that task and her sound advice, wise counsel and good company have been very valuable on innumerable occasions since. I shall miss her as a colleague and a friend so it was good to be able to buy her a drink tonight before I left the Parliament on my way home.

I couldn't resist this picture too - a last shot of her at work, scrutinizing the expenses claims of members !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.