Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Do these seeds make my face look fat?

Of course, Scoobie was really asking - got any peanuts?  That little rascal.  And before you even ask, yes, there peanuts.  We don't let any of the backyard critters go hungry around here.  At this point, Scoobie probably has at least 20 pound of sunflower seeds and heaven only knows how many pounds of peanuts stored in his home in our garden.  No danger of him going hungry this winter.

It was a miserable day outside - cold and wet and blustery.  And although it didn't stop the birds from hitting the feeders non-stop, it was a pretty strong deterrent for this photographer.  Apparently, in my later years, I've become a candy-ass about the weather.  I ducked out for 10 minutes to lure Scoobie out for some photos and have now retreated back inside the warm house.  

There were four big wild turkeys across the road on our neighbor's property this morning and Charlie was watching them through the window with great interest.  I'm not sure what might have been going through his little cat-brain since those turkey's outweigh him significantly.  Phoebe, on the other hand, couldn't have cared less and was only concerned with getting a proper nap.  

Saw an Eastern Phoebe (a small flycatcher) and a rose-breasted grosbeak in the backyard today - no doubt moving through on their way south.  Didn't see any hummers, although the ones I've been seeing during the past week are only stopping briefly for refueling.  Found another soggy, cold carpenter bee on the dahlias - poor beast is going to have to wait it out for a few days, I'm afraid.

Was hoping to get out on an Audubon field trip tomorrow, but just heard that it's been cancelled because of the weather. Poo.  Guess I'll stay here and continue to beastly job of sorting through my many, many photos.  Today, I managed to get through over 2,000 flower photos and roughly 500 butterfly images.  It's interesting to look at the photos I took 5 or 6 years ago - in hindsight, some of them look really dreadful now.  

I'm tagging this for FlowerFriday - with a special big thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting!  I realize that it's more of a chipmunk photo, but there are flowers in the background...I'd call it more of a chipmunk with a side of flowers image...

Cheers
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.