horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

All Present and Correct

Every part; every panel; every screw; every damned thing pictured in the list of contents at the start. All there. Tonight I swapped my rough and ready chicken run building for Swedish precision. A night off that I thought was going to be hard work. Which, erm, wasn't... Save for a chip in one of the doors meaning I'm going to have to take that back more than likely, and those same doors need levelling properly.

Tomorrow the chicken runnery continues, but only until the pub quiz at the Sheep Heid.

How to lose friends and alienate people part 72:

Copy me in on an email to a number of people, with a one-line request that I look at an agreement that you 'seem to have missed' in your inbox, leaving us with a deadline of, oh, today, asking me how long I think it will take, before even enquiring about what else I might have on my desk (quite a lot as it happens). Come up to my room three minutes later to back up the need for this to be done, and let me know you'll be back at 4 and it would be great if I could let you know then if it could be done by the end of today. Come back up at 4, when I'm not at my desk, see the contract open a few pages in and comment to the person I share a room with 'Oh good, he's doing what he should be' (and yes, she did tell me you said that). Issue no thanks whatsoever when, with such short notice, and despite a number of 'sorry-for-the-late-notice-but-this-is-really-important' items of work I was already undertaking, I actually get comments to you on the contract with an hour to spare on the normal working day.

Maybe it doesn't sound much, but on the back of last Friday (which I can't really be bothered going into all over again, but save to say a number of people at my work cannot believe how some other people act like little kids who need their hands held all the time), and coming from who it came from (just trust me on this, the most arrogant and superior, but covering it up with utterly, utterly false friendliness you could imagine) I just really wasn't in the mood.

Early rise tomorrow for a chiro appointment, and first commute on the borrowed Brompton (we had a chat tonight and decided a different saddle was in order - fortunately I had a nice Brooks doing nothing in the garage other than adorning an unridden-in-ages bike), so if I don't blip for a while you'll know I'm in A&E.

Pretty certain I know what's being blipped tomorrow, and it 'aint the bike...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.