Peggy's Beautiful Basket

I mentioned yesterday that I finally was able to buy something made by Peggy Kondo. She does amazing baskets and punch needle embroidery. I love her work but each year I just couldn't quite come up with the needed money to buy one of her pieces. This year I was determined. And lucky. Because this year she started making tiny wearable baskets that were in my price range. What a thrill. This one almost jumped off the wall and hung itself gently around my neck. It spoke to me. I listened. And now it is mine. This lead to the wonderful conversation we had which I talked about in yesterday's blip. When I am not wearing the basket I hang it on my bedroom wall.

Today started quite differently from yesterday. Bryant from BioBugs arrived right on time at 10 am to do a bedbug inspection for us. I scheduled it because I had been waking up with new bites and feared the worst. Of course after I made the appointment my bites stopped happening. But I decided to go ahead. I was delighted to find we did not have bedbugs (phew). He thought something else might have been causing my symptoms and sure enough he found it, carpet beetles. I had never heard of the little b-----ds. They don't actually bite but they do cause what seem like bites on people who are allergic to them. I seem to be one of those. He continued to explore and found carpenter and moisture ants. Oh goodie! I did know we had ants and soon realized that it was a good thing I had the inspection. Next step, exterminate the pests. At least it wasn't bedbugs. Those things are nasty and really hard to get rid of.

The other positive part of the bug guy was that I had to empty a bunch of drawers to prepare for his visit. Now I can get rid of all the old stuff that has been accumulating over the last 26 years in this house. So good and bad news today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.