... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Menorca Day 10: Cap de Cavalleria

More intrepid in large.
Back blip

I went up Monte Toro in the morning (an annual pilgrimage, although I kept out of the sanctuary itself...): all edges of the island are visible from its highest point, and the views are spectacular. There is a statue of Jesus broadcasting from the top which I always find amusing. I also liked the stacked rooftops and awning of the cafe. There's also a convent gift shop and a general tourist gift shop up there, so it all seems fairly prosperous...

I then headed down to Es Mercadal to pick up some crespells from the bakery. The view of Monte Toro from Es Mercadal reminded me of Veronica.

In the afternoon, we went to Cala Viola on Cap de Cavalleria, a favourite cove from previous years. We explored the peninsula beyond (towards the Port of Sanitja) before swimming, finding defensive positions, scenic rock pools, and appealing views of the Martello tower at Sanitja and headlands of the north coast.

Menorca photos can be found on Flickr here.
Day 10 pictures are right from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.