... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Menorca Day 11: Sas Penyas Praying Mantis

More meditative in large.
Back blip

This mantis invited itself into the kitchen and took possession of a plastic bag... It wouldn't budge, so I got out the macro and flash.
I put it outside (with its plastic bag) and we then went to the local beach (Arenal d'en Castell) via a foresty path with a wonderful damp pine smell.

When we got back, the mantis was bored of its bag, so had moved onto the tiles and become rather more photogenic (*blip*). I took several photos of it on the reflective tiles: it was a curious creature (and seemed to have mesmeric powers), and I loved the way that it cocked its head as it looked around.
I also photographed a tiny gecko on the ceiling in the evening, so have uploaded that as an extra.

Menorca photos can be found on Flickr here.
Day 11 pictures are right from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.