TINY TUESDAY - ABELIA BUDS

I struggled this morning, Lord,
To get things right -
But I wasn’t satisfied….
So I tried again…..
And still I didn’t get it right.
Was it the camera
Or was it me?
I know I’m a perfectionist
And if things aren’t right
I feel “out of kilter”
But there’s more to it than that!
In the space of a week
I have heard of the deaths
Of four friends.
And it makes me realise
My own mortality.
More of my life has gone
Than is in front of me
So why can’t I just enjoy life
Rather than striving
For the unattainable?
Does it really matter if
Everything isn’t in focus
Or if things aren’t perfect?
I need to accept myself
As you accept me
With all my flaws and
Imperfections –
And then perhaps I will be able
To enjoy what life is left.
Help me, Lord,
Not to be so hard on myself,
To cut myself some slack –
And to enjoy each day
To the full.
 
© Maureen Iles
 
Would you please click on this link, especially during October, so that those less fortunate may have a free mammogram.  Thank you.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.