WHAT A GREAT DAY!

Today dawned bright and sunny as Mr. HCB went off early for breakfast with our friend, Keith and I understand they had a great time chatting and eating, of course.
 
Another friend, Darren, has a new job as the Chef at a pub called The Newbury - strangely enough in Newbury in Berkshire – which is featured in the Michelin Guide 2016, so we decided to surprise him and visit for lunch.  We parked the car and had a wander near the Kennet & Avon Canal and then went for a coffee;  not only did we get a free Danish pastry, but I got my first “plastic” £5 note in the change – it doesn’t take much to excite me these days!
 
Outside the pub, we put on our hats and “sunnies” and walked in – only to be greeted by Darren and Mo, his “sidekick” with “Hello, fancy seeing you here!”  Mo said he wasn’t sure whether it was us, but Darren said he recognised us immediately!  The disguise obviously didn’t work.  I had prepared a couple of Post-it Notes because I know that Darren and Mo always liked them when they worked in Swindon – so here they are wearing them.
 
After a tour of the pub and introductions all round, not only to the owner, Pete, but to all the staff, including Aston, Mark and Kaz, we chose a great window seat where we could watch the world go by and were left with the menu to choose what we wanted for lunch.
 
Chef came out to tell us that fresh sardines were on the menu, but we both fancied the Newbury Burger, a very large venison burger with Ogleshield cheese, on a bed of blueberry relish on a brioche roll, with sweet potato fries – and we were not disappointed.  My only regret was that I was so full after eating it that I couldn’t even manage a dessert – but I have no doubt we will be back.  We were looked after so well and finished off with a wonderful Cappuccino made by Kaz – now there’s a girl who knows what she is doing!
 
Thanks guys (and gal) for making us so welcome – it was a pleasure to see Darren and Mo again and to meet some new friends – if you’re ever in Newbury, do call in and tell them that Mr. & Mrs. HCB recommended you!
 
On the way home we stopped in Chilton Foliat when I saw some beautiful pink dahlias in a garden – a man came up behind me as I was taking the photograph and said “You’d be surprised how many people stop and take a photograph of my dahlias.”  I told him about Blip and BCAM and asked if he minded and he said of course not – so not only a great day out, but I got a pink flower into the bargain.
 
Please click on this link so that those less fortunate may have a free mammogram.  Thank you. 
 
One cannot
     think well,
          love well,
               sleep well,
if one has not dined well.
Virginia Woolf
 

P.S.  Thank you for all your lovely comments yesterday – I am feeling much better today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.