MONO MONDAY AND PINKTOBER 5

Today’s challenge for MonoMonday is Fun and there is also the ongoing challenge for Pinktober.  I think this fits the bill.

We are on our way to Cornwall and stopped overnight in a Travelodge at Whiddon Down, Okehampton - and I can thoroughly recommend this to anyone travelling - it was clean and warm and next door is Hog Hedge where they served a delicious breakfast of porridge with maple syrup - as Mr. HCB said, he wasn’t sure the maple syrup did him as much good as the porridge, but it was very more-ish.  

I decided as we had paid for wifi in our room, it might be a good idea to get my blip done and then I wouldn’t need to worry - so I was on the lookout for something pink and amongst the various commodities that the Hog Hedge sold were these little containers of Gourmet, Luxury hand-packed confectionery.  

Not only were they pink, but once I had processed them the background was mono and reminded me of the fun we used to have many years ago when we bought aniseed balls in a little shop near our school, and they were put into a little triangular bag.  If my memory serves me right, they were about 4 for one penny - old money that is!  You couldn’t bite them, and if you did, then you were likely to break one of your teeth, but along with gobstoppers, they were great fun and every so often, when you were sucking them, you had to take them out of your mouth and see the different layers.  Does anyone else remember doing this?  

As well as aniseed balls we had Black Jacks, Fruit Salads, Sweet Tobacco, Gobstoppers, Sweet Cigarettes and not forgetting Sherbert Fountains and of course, Bubblegum.  Most of these were “forbidden” to me and especially Bubblegum.  I can remember having some but throwing it away before I got home, but my mother always knew I had had it, because if I had blown a particularly large bubble, and it had then burst, it was all over my face.  Those were the days!  Pink and mono - fun and many memories too.

I put one of my Post-it Notes up at the Hog Hedge - and it's in my extras - just hope we don't have to make our own sunshine and I did resist buying the Fudge!  

Childhood is a short season. 
Helen Hayes

Once again, please click on this link to enable those who cannot afford it to have a free mammogram.  Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.