The second half of life..

By twigs

Dan D Lion plus one

Started on the front garden today, a cormer in particual that has been allowed to develop in its own way.  Sadly, a few years ago I stupidly allowed a Japanese honeysuckle that had decided it liked the area, to grow.  I trimmed it occasionally but now - after quite some time of neglect - it's almost out of control.  I think I have my work cut out for me getting rid of this one!  It was dealt a good blow today but there's still plenty to do.

On the upside, when I was wrestling through 'that corner' I discovered not one bit two beautiful orchids (one pink and one yellow).  The bags they were in were had been well and truly outgrown (I remember being told when I bought them that they liked being root-bound) and the plants were sitting very comfortably in a pile of decaying leaves, twigs and other such garden detritus which had clearly been a very favourable environment for them.  Seriously, it must be 20 years since I bought them!  The 'orchid factory' used to be just down the road.  Their main business was exporting but every now and then they'd put old, past-their-best plants out the front with a minimal price tag attached (gotta love that Kiwi honesty box!).  I would have bought 6 or 8 over the course of a few years, and some of them are still 'somewhere' in the garden.  I had no idea these two (actually - there may even be three in there) were there but oh my! what a very pleasant surprise to find them with blooms.  My concern now is that, by disturbing their environment I may end of doing them harm.  Time will tell.

The ongoing picture-story of Dan D Lion (focus stackedseed head) ...........today's image was to have been a close up of those beautiful stamen but when a friendly fly appeared on the scene and didn't budge, he was clearly seeking some blip fame.  Who am I to deny him?

Hair appointment tomorrow - yay!  Much needed!  I'm considering a quick squiz over to Golden Bay on Friday.......we'll see what the weather does before deciding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.