dreaming

By dreaming

A box with a story

I stayed at home today, so had to find something here for today's blip.  I settled on another item in my more-extensive-than-I-realized collection of boxes.  This small wooden burnt-work box was made in Poland and I got it at a small Polish import store in New York many years ago.

Mine was not a happy home, and as soon as I was deemed old enough to ride the subway by myself, on Saturday mornings I would announce "I'm going to the Museum," and head into Manhattan to the Metropolitan Museum of Art - then as now one of my favorite places in the world.  Sometimes I would also go window-shopping and wander the streets of what was to me, a Brooklyn girl, an exotic world.  When my sister Endless Weekend was old enough to go with me, we'd have lunch and window shop, and occasionally buy gifts for each other.  This was her gift to me, and I bought a different one for her.  It's a memento of a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.