If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Comma Butterfly.

I had to go down into Lancashire for a regional committee meeting, so Clickychick decided to come a long and visit the Mere Sands Wood Nature Reserve while I was in my meeting.  Arriving a little early we popped into a garden centre (now there's a surprise) for a coffee but didn't have time to look round.

My meeting ended with lunch so after CC had picked me up we decided to have a better look round the garden centre.  Another coffee was inevitable as they had a special offer on your second coffee of the day.  While wandering in the lovely warm sunshine outside I spotted a plant with a number of Butterflies - Commas being the most common.

Considering Hops used to be their main caterpillar food plant, followed by Elm Commas are doing quite well having changed food plants to mainly nettles.  I am sure that if nettles were removed from the UK flora much of our Butterfly population would crash.  At least that is my excuse for any nettles you find in our garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.