Smokey 1401 hr (Monday 3rd October 2016)

It seems appropriate that Smokey should represent my journal on this anniversary blip although his presence, though statistically probable, was incidental. Blip had forewarned me that my 2190th blip was approaching but the significance of this wasn't obvious to me.

I try to keep to the ethos that one's Blip should reflect one's day rather than shaping it, though if I'm encouraged to go out and about that is to the good as long as it can be justified in some slight way other than finding a blip. Monday was an uneventful day, with the builder working on the outbuilding and me getting out only to drive to the recycling centre with dustbins full of green waste in the trailer.

If Blip wants to celebrate my 2,190 blips that is absolutely fine; bring it on. It celebrates six years in the alternate Blipworld where its sun's apparent orbit takes exactly 365 days, whereas in ours there have been two leap year days since 26 March 2010, the date of my first blip.

I spent some time investigating the ins and outs of these dates and corrected some anomalies (i.e. mistakes) that had crept into my daily totals:

Six years, six months and 8 days have elapsed since my first blip, but because I haven't blipped every day my 1,940 blips amount to only five years, three months and 23 days. However, archived blips are now included in the total that Blip uses and I have made 250 of these so far, the earliest being on 27 August 1960, since which date there have been fourteen leap year days. Anyhow, whatever the calculations I am pleased to have reached  this obscure milestone intact.

L.
7.10.2016 (1316 hr)

Blip #1940 (#2190 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #004
Day #2384 (443 gaps from 26 March 2010)
Smokey #349
LOTD #1175 (#1299 including 124 on archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-1 and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Smokey series

Lozarhythm of the Day:
Lesley Gore- It's My Party (recorded 30 March 1963, Bell Sound, Manhattan NY)
Her first single and producer Quincy Jones' first hit single. The song had first been recorded by Helen Shapiro while in Nashville but appeared on an album after Lesley Gore's version. Phil Spector had also produced a version by the Crystals that remained unreleased.


One year ago:
Smokey 1939 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.