Lake Waitaki

I fished Lake Waitak tiday, the lowest of the Waitaki hydro lakes. It's a first for me and I had a ball.


There were just 2 of us fishing from an inflatable boat. We didn't encounter the rough white caps of the other lakes and we caught a lot of fish.

Well I caught a lot of fish. Sometimes it just happens that way. I have reputation for out fishing the boys ;-)

Mostly we were drifting and casting soft baits. It was a huge amount of fun :-) I've kept 3 to take home and smoke, a fraction of what I caught. Curiously I only caught one rainbow, the rest were brown trout in unusually good condition.

I've kept to my phone rather than camera this weekend. I know I'll be busy with house stuff once I'm home, so it's deliberate pragmatism on my part.

My hunter/ gatheree gene is satiated for a while. So much stalking and chasing :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.