Damp

As planned I was up and off early this morning. The clouds hung low but it was dry across the McKenzie until just past Tekapo. With retrospect there was a potential blip I could have stopped to check out in the middle of nowhere in the McKenzie.

If it wasn't raining the light was dismal and flat. I did stop in the Ashburton Domain for a stretch. Unsurprisingly given the rain, I had the place to myself.

The afternoon has been devoted to 3 loads of washing, changing my linen, dealing with fish, unpacking and putting stuff away, picking up the little pope, and having a chat to Dad.

The pope did a bit better at this hotel than the last one. Another day and I think he would have found his feet with Auntie Ruth. Next time I'll ask that he doesn't have dinner before pick up. On the 10-15 minute drive home he had a little accident in his carry cage. I had to have the windows down for the last 5 minutes and it wasn't pleasant for either of us.

Worse things happen at sea ;-)

I've had a lovely few days away. As usual I packed a lot in and didn't have a lot of down time. It's good to be home and I'll take tonight and tomorrow night easy so I have some time to just be.

Oh, and the pope is very pleased to see me. His purr is soft but this evening it's been unusually loud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.