Friday Foto

By drmackem

It's my Party and I'll Cry of I Want to

Long run in the fog, church, then 2 hours loading a removal van for a friend then into Ilkley to the continental market to blip. Saw this blipped it, it made me smile but lets face it getting hammered is never classy.

Managed to watch the marathon on record after all that. Loved seeing Kiprotich bring home Gold, he raced best, so much in the marathon in recent years has been amazing records with paid pacemakers, amazing but not racing, Kenya is a poorer marathon nation following the death of Sammy Wanjuri. Also I'm so pleased too for my Ugandan friend Ivanwho will enjoy that win in Kampala tonight.

So all the competing is over, and the things I feared didn't come to pass, and so much beyond my hopes in so many ways. I've found it so often quite emotional too. Plenty shouting, nail biting, but I've been caught out by tears welling up pretty often too. If tonight finishes with Waterloo Sunset I'll loose it. I never thought I'd see this happen in my country, I never thought we'd do such a good job and that we turned up and performed on the field of play was just the icing on the cake. So many memories, I hope though that it's more than memories and mad moments such as pubs stopping their drinking to cheer a black runner and follower of Islam make history on the track(Sir Mo surely) inspire us to be better than we have been as a nation and as people in many ways.

Can't wait for the Paralympics, for now a beer a box of tissues and tonight closing party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.