Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Getting out the dressing up box

I love it when middle aged officials get out their dressing up box.

Today was Law Sunday, apparently the first day of the legal year.  For this there is always a big service in the cathedral, where the Mayor and Councillors, judges and lawyers, knock on the huge west doors and then process in.  These two were wearing eye-aching scarlet with black bands, which I think makes them high court judges.  Most of the others were wearing black with electric blue bands which I guess says they're less important.  I thought they looked hilarious impressive.

In the Extra you can see a policewoman leading up the City Councillors.  They came from a different direction but their robes did match: blue and red.

My mum, who used to love going to the cathedral on Sunday mornings, would grumble about this service.  She'd got too old to get up for an earlier one but this went on too long and made her miss her coffee.  The 'dusty wigs and rusty chains' she used to call them.  My mum could be quite naughty  ;))

Wishing you a peaceful Sunday evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.