Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

In the shade of the hanging trees

Now I have a story for you..

I walked through the churchyard in Hyde today on my way into town, hoping for a blip for Flower Friday - very kindly hosted by BikerBear, thank you - and found this poor petal-less flower dreaming in the sun.  In order to get the shot I had to step onto the grass and into the shade of a couple of cherry trees.  I'd only just done so when a gloomy voice behind me said, "They call those the Hanging Trees".

Which of course did creep me out, even though I assumed I'd misunderstood.

Unfortunately I hadn't, and once started the elderly guy couldn't stop, so delighted was he to have an audience.  So I now know they are trees that have been used by people wanting to kill themselves, each having branches coming out at the right angle and the right height.  The way he told it the latest was not so long ago, some poor man whose wife had left him.  How very sad life can be.

Well, that's me the week done for.  I do hope for the weekend that the weather stays like it's been today.  Blue skies can be addictive, can't they?

Enjoy your weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.