TINY TUESDAY

I had seen a tiny rosebud that I was going to blip, but Mr. HCBA said that there were several dandelion heads on the grass opposite our kitchen window which might be good for today, so as it was rather chilly and damp on the grass, I put on my jacket, put my camera round my neck, rolled up my trousers and off I went.  Thinking about it, it’s no wonder our neighbours think I am weird – but actually, at my age, I think I am allowed to be – after all, I have spent a long time being sensible!
 
I didn’t realise that there are more than 240 species of dandelion or to give it its proper name, Taraxacum, and it is the only yellow member of the daisy and dandelion family to have a hollow stem, which exudes a milky substance when picked, as many of us will remember from our childhood.
 
There is only ever one flower on top of each leafless stalk, but they don’t all rise at once, but as many gardeners will know, often keep a low profile and take turns at growing, until just after the grass is mowed, when there always seems to be one stalk ready to set seed – ask Mr. HCB!
 
It always seems strange to me that one day there can be a beautiful yellow flower, which is very attractive to bees – even though we class it as a weed – and the next day it is miraculously a seed head.  One of the wonders of nature – or not – again ask any gardener who is trying to eradicate them from his lawn!
 
How many of us have unwittingly made the dandelion one of our most common weeds by blowing the delicate and beautiful seed heads to “tell the time”? 
 
I used to love to drink Dandelion and Burdock when I was younger, which my Grandmother used to buy from the “Pop Man” who came round every week, but having tried some quite recently, it was far too sweet – perhaps it has been “doctored” for this “sweet-toothed” generation because I don’t remember it being that sweet, although perhaps my mind has forgotten that!
 
Parts of the dandelion can be used to treat various conditions, but I must admit I have never used them as a laxative, to increase urine production, in salads or to make coffee – I’m not that weird!
 
“Dandelions, like all things in nature
     are beautiful
          when you take the time
               to pay attention to them.” 
June Stoyer
   
Please click on this link so that those who cannot afford to pay can have a free mammogram.  Thank you.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.