ANNIVERSARIES - PINKTOBER 11

One year ago today, we were privileged to attend the blessing of our friends’ baby, Noah, which was a really happy occasion, celebrated with friends and family, who had come over to Boscombe from Switzerland.  This followed on from an unhappy experience the day before when I had hurt my right knee.  Today, however, I have been thinking more about the happy times and thanking God that I have come a long way since I was on crutches and in so much pain.

Since the beginning of October, I have been relatively pain-free during the day, which is great, although sleeping is still not that good, as I do find the weight of the duvet on my knee makes it very sore - but Praise God that I am getting there, slowly but surely.

In church this morning, our preacher, Derek, reminded us that OUR GOD IS ABLE - and he gave us many scriptures that confirmed this. 

After the service we always have coffee or tea, biscuits and a chat;  when I was chatting to my friend, Rachel, I noticed that she was dressed in purple, and she told me that she had to wear that colour because her nails were painted purple!  This is the colour of royalty and of course, in the Church of England, Bishops often wear purple.

Rachel is not a bishop and we belong to a Baptist Church, but she did look very attractive.  I took several photographs, and thought I might just get away with purple being a very dark pink, and asked if she would mind being my Blip for today - UNTIL she picked up her water bottle that had a pink top - so job done.  Well a bit more persuasion for her to have a couple more photographs and then the job was done!

So thank you, Rachel, you make a very appealing and attractive Blip and you are certainly helping the cause and the challenge of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  I hope that before too much longer, this terrible disease will be eradicated, but in the meantime, I pray that those going through treatment will be blessed in a very special way. 

Now glory be to God, 
     who by his mighty power 
          at work within us 
is ABLE to do far more 
     than we would ever dare to ask 
          or even dream of - 
               infinitely beyond 
                    our highest prayers, 
                         desires, thoughts, or hopes.
Ephesians 3:20 
Living Bible

Please click again on this link so that those unable to pay for a mammogram can have one free of charge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.