Tuesday

Club day.

When I was on holiday we lost "Marta". Today, her daughter brought in an account that Marta had written about her own childhood and I read most of it this afternoon.

Marta's parents were Nazis. The story takes place in 1945 and tells of their plight escaping the Russians who eventually occupied their home town.

It is a shocking and difficult read. 12 year Marta saw sights no one should ever see. Members of her family were raped and shot and Marta herself was made to help a soldier remove dead bodies from the back of a lorry and carry them to their graves. 

Her own father was rounded up with a group of men aged 18 - 60. taken away and shot.

She recalls seeing many Jews on route to a concentration camp. Her mother made a comment that Marta would not repeat. In later years, her mother's comment  haunted and caused her anguish and distress.

It is a long document and I have not yet read it all but it really reminds you that our members have histories. Marta was not always a sweet old lady with dementia.  

My lovely Alison, only 67 years old, who I used to take out twice a week, has gone into residential care today. 

When I got home, I felt very weary and went up to bed for a while. 

Sometimes it gets to you.
   
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.