Apples

Part of my role at work is menu planning.

Food is dellivered every Tuesday afternoon. It is supplied by a company called "Fareshare". 

Supermarkets donate surplus foods and food nearing sell by dates to Fareshare who then distribute to clubs like ours.

We do not know what will be delivered and sometimes we have to be very "experimental"!

We also get deliveries from people's allotments and gardens. Recently we've had a never ending supply of apples. Pudding yesterday was sliced up chocolate cake (supplied by Fareshare) which I then topped with a layer of stewed apple then covered in custard and heated in the oven. It was delicious and when asked, I called it "Chocolate Apple Bake"!

Anyway, when I went out with the dog this morning, I was distracted masses of blackberries so I picked a load. I am going to make a syrup so tomorrow's pud may be Syrup soaked cake and custard. 

Gorgeous day again. 
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.