Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Spinning, Spinning And Spinning Some More

I feel like (my) life is spinning out of control.  The only part of my body that isn't causing constant (or nearly constant) pain or is not otherwise  falling apart is my left foot. No kidding.

Add to that the stress, anxiety and general depression over my mom's rapidly deteriorating mental and physical health. Just having cogent conversations at times is a struggle...


I'm being harassed, ignored and being called vulgar names by people in the community.  I'm a f*cking b*tch because I told a man in a golf cart at a red light today he was stopped in the middle of the crosswalk.  Neighbors turn their backs on me because I have Clinton signs in my yard. Old men give me the finger and yell vile, disgusting things about Hillary Clinton through their car windows simply because I have a bumper sticker on my car.

I've been trying to volunteer at the Democratic Club for months and I'm shunned. The  person in charge of volunteers doesn't like the fact that I have bipolar disorder...freaking stigma and ignorance strike again...

When did we stop respecting others, despite being different and/or having different points of view?  When did we collectively lose our civility? Why can't we even say hello to each other with smiles on our faces?  I am disgusted with (most) of the angry, old, white people in this community.   I don't want to leave my house.  I hate everyone who looks at me.  They are just mean.

My therapist told me yesterday that I am a decent, principled and moral person who possesses a huge heart. If that's true, why are people treating me like shit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.