Leading you up the garden path

As I am strolling down the garden path,
I saw a flower glowing in the dark.
It looked so pretty and it was unique;
I had to bend down just to have a peek.

Hello Old Friend Eric Clapton


An odd day. First I had to zoom over to TJs to borrow her picnic hamper to use as a cat basket. Then I had to persuade Edie Puss to get in it to take her to the vet. Edie Puss has never been to the vet since she was spayed 14 years ago and I suspect the memory is still firmly ingrained. Ede has been listless and snuffly and has got a bit thin so it thad to be done. I caught, her bunged her in the basket and sped off to Ballydehob to see vet Tim. She gave out loudly the whole way then went exceptionally quiet and small once we got there. Vet Tim was impressed by her behaviour, as was I, for normally tortoiseshell cats are super feisty apparently. She submitted to various indignities was pronounced to have a respiratory infection, given to injections on the spot then sent home with some pink medicine. She was silent all the way home then roared as soon as we got over the cattle grid in our boreen! She's now having a big sleep.

Now it's book club tonight. Back to Ballydehob where we shall be discussing Somewhere Towards the End by Diana Athill, written in her 90th year, reflections on old age and a life interestingly led.

Last night's film, Sweet Bean, was unexpectedly wonderful. Japanese, beautifully shot, very melancholy and a sombre little story.

Today's blip - yes another bit of dereliction. Had I mentioned it is Derelict Sunday's year anniversary this week!!! This little house is sadly neglected but the Japanese anemones don't know it and are blooming away happily. Lots of nice DS entries coming in already. Wild enough for Wednesday?

And thank you for all the nice comments etc on Patch. I'm happy to report he was happily hairing down the road today.


Hello old friend - a bit of Eric Clapton too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.