Guernsey Road, Norwich

I have to go with this poor quality photo today for a reason. It will all become clear, even if the picture is not!

The photo was taken from the bus, as we drove past the end of Guernsey Road, Norwich. A regular narrow block of Victorian 2 up 2 down cottages, a stones throw from the city centre, and just outside the old city wall (or what is left of it).

It was at number 35, on 9th February 1900, that my nanna, my dad's mum, was born. Bessie Violet Ketteringham. She lived here with her parents and 3 older siblings for at least her first year. So you see, I have come right back to my roots. Stepping on cobbled streets once trodden by my ancestors. My nanna I have mentioned in earlier blips. She met my grandfather, Alan Howard, around 1918, who was a Londoner. They subsequently married and lived out their lives in Barnet. There were several Ketteringhams who stayed in Norfolk, so I still have distant cousins of my dad, in the area.

Today, is my mum and dad's 53rd wedding anniversary. They both grew up in Barnet, moving out to Hoddesdon in the 1960's when they married. Today they have spent the day revisiting old haunts in Barnet. Something they do every year!

I've done nothing more exciting than get up and do a days work. I did take my camera around the city at lunch time, as I had an idea I'd do a quiz at Christmas. Why? I suppose, because I like to keep busy!!! I got a few photos anyway!

Jon is home now, and the evening has flown. They are watching that drama The Missing, but it looks too disturbing for me. I've plugged in the radiator and I'm camping out in the conservatory. Its dark and cool, but free from tv!

Happy Anniversary Mum and Dad xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.