The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Bay Street Village Lobby

It had been far too long since I painted last. I was so happy to be back in open studio after a three week break. It was a big group and we all had a great time and did some good work. 

I started a new 24 by 36 inch painting. I spent quite a bit of time coming up with my composition. Trish gave me a large piece of newsprint paper and some charcoal so I could map out the dark and light passages. Then I painted them in gold and Venetian red gesso. You may remember that Daniel Smith stopped making the kind I use, but my good friend Pat had some she was not using so she gave it to me. Thanks to Pat I'm back in business again. 

After the gesso dried I began to draw in the shapes of the areas where windows and reflections are. The subject is the same lobby in my photograph but from a different angle. I may actually paint this view someday too. But for now you can see how far I got today by looking at the extra.

Helena met me after class and we went home to meet Arvin when his bus arrived. We had a quiet time on the deck and then an early meal together before we drove H home. I don't like driving in the dark so we keep taking her home earlier as the days grow shorter. She had an idea for a way to get a ride via the WTA that might solve our problem when it gets dark around four in the afternoon. Last year we split the cost of a taxi but that was getting pretty expensive.

Arvin and I had a much better bedtime this evening and I was really relieved and happy about that. I thought he might have forgotten about the scream yesterday but no. He remembered. So we talked a bit more about the episode. I don't think it will happen again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.