Losing Focus

A miserable night: one eye weeping, not because of Brexit nightmares but I thought thanks to a playful scratch from kitty Eddie middle of Monday/Tuesday night when I was fast asleep. Added to this and from a pain point of view, 100 times worse, a pulsating swollen finger from a splinter I got at the weekend and hadn't bothered to deal with.

Attempts at 4:00 am to spear open the wound failed miserably despite trying to soften up the skin. So first thing off to the GP surgery which is closed on Wednesdays but one knows they don't turn you away. So less than 1 minute wait and doc was performing major surgery on my finger and that without a full anaesthetic. Boy was I brave - had my favourite surgery helper been there, I am sure I would have got a lollipop afterwards. Instead just some spare finger dressings and a prescription for conjunctivitis eye drops.

Home and horse feeding, mucking etc and then dog walk. I think they have both given up on me as I spend the hour or so in a trance thinking about all the ridiculous things going on in the UK and try making some sense of it all. Never mind in or out but what makes 17m people, 80% of whom had apparently been "happy" in January with the way the UK was going, suddenly put that all at risk.

So almost everything I visually see I get to link to the UK. After the walk stopped at a harvested maize field next to the lakes to pick some of the maize cobs not picked up by the harvesters. Saw the bliped scene and reminded me of the one time White Cliffs  I so wondered at when a young lad taking the ferry to/from the Continent. I have never used and never will use, the Eurotunnel. The journey would never be complete without this sight.

Just to annoy me even more, heard on radio that the German Govt. will be passing a law to prevent other EU citizens from receiving unemployment/social security benefits until they have worked here for 5 years - currently 6 months. Strange that the Germans can do this and the UK can't couldn't. Why did Merkel come back from that "never had a hope in hell" Cameron visit to Brussels in February, to say the UK had a good idea and we will put it in to force - the one stopping child benefits for children not even nin the country. Who dreamed up "Taking back Control"?

Calmed down after a quick telephone chat with a bliping friend which put the important things in life back in to perspective. My thoughts with him and his family.

See on the map that this latest quarry lake isn't yet shown. The location is actually spot on.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.