John Bull

Today has turned out to be a turning point or at least it should be. I don't think things can get more ridiculous.

A whole country has come to a standstill because of a lack of a sticky,brown, salty, evil tasting yeast food spread. I am sure more than 51.9% of ALL Brits can't stand the stuff BUT when a national institution is under threat, the country unites. Brilliant tactic Mrs May, better and a lot cheaper than a Falklands war.

Alarmed by the early morning messages of people publishing hints on how to extract Marmite from Twiglets, I knew it was my duty to go to the local supermarket to secure supplies for my family and friends in the UK and possibly organise Red Cross parcels.

First though a quick dog walk with Flash while Angie rode out on Sultan with Luna and took Rosie along to give her some exercise. Wish I could have Blipped them but got delayed in the supermarket.

Searched and searched and searched the shelves - no marmite, no PG Tips, no cheddar, no baked beans, no Bovril, Brooke Bonds. But then from a bottom shelf behind the Hibiscus and Rose Hip tea bags, I saw a single box of 25 Lipton's tea bags. My initial joy was dulled at the checkout when they refused to give me a 20% discount. During the scuffle that followed and while lying on the floor having been forceably ejected, I did regain my joy - they had thrown out the box along with me and despite finding out the Best By Date was June 1999, I left the car park feeling a winner.

The Bliped bull followed me as I drove past from the flyover until I stopped to take the photo, all the time blurting very loudly. He seems to be very angry and the fowl or sheep net between us didn't give me much confidence of being an effective fence.

I wonder how many millions were lost today by companies employees spending time on Twitter. Unilever, the Daily Mail and Twitter must be rejoicing.

This Blip came to get it's revenge in the evening. Angie went off to her evening fitness class and I said I would make a home made pizza using the mass of tomatoes from the greenhouse. Gleefully took down a big bag of organic spelt flour and looked for the yeast..........and searched and searched. Eventually had to message her it wasn't going to be pizza tonight. Luckily the sport center has a Pizzeria and she returned home with two good take aways!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.