Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Golden

This is the result of my dashing out onto the deck for about 5 minutes late this afternoon and getting a couple of mediocre shots in poor light.  Picked this one just because I liked the way the golden/orange tones of the maple tree behind the goldfinch made the background light up.  The goldfinch is a juvenile, determined by the strongly marked wing bars which the adults lack.  Also, it was begging even though I didn't see an adult nearby.  Lovely little birds and quite different than the European goldfinches - also quite a bit smaller, I think.  I also did an abstract shot of the maple by using a very slow shutter and panning down the maple - I'm posting it in Extra because I'm just too chicken to post a shot like that as my blip.  That said, I'd love any constructive feedback on it.

We've had a most wonderful visit with our nephew and his wife.  We stayed up late into the night discussing politics, gender, and a host of other interesting things; and started all over again this morning.  To me, it is very energizing to spend time with both of them - they're smart, funny, and able to converse on such a wide range of topics from the perspective of the millennial generation.  My only regret is that they were traveling without our grandnephew this time - but we'll see the little peanut soon enough.  Anyway, we reluctantly said goodbye to them a short while ago as they are off to the reunion.

Tomorrow is supposed to be sunny and cool - a great day to have the 10 yards of dirt delivered to my new garden.  I've got a lunch tomorrow; but after that I'll change into my gardening grubbies and go out and start moving the dirt around.  

Thanks for stopping by, and thanks also for all the comments, hearts and stars on my cranefly yesterday.  Still no closer to an exact ID on it, but haven't given up!

Ciao
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.