Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just can't help myself...

I seem to be on a macro-frenzy at the moment...in no small part because I'm living on borrowed time now for insects.  Soon, very soon, they will mostly disappear for the winter.  That said, I would probably have chosen this for my blip regardless because it's such an interesting looking creature. It is some sort of crane fly - larger than a mosquito, but similar in appearance.  This was smallish, well under an inch in length and I'm speculating that it is in the family Limoniidae, but more research is needed to confirm.  I know virtually nothing about this large group of insects.  Worldwide, there are over 15,000 species of crane flies...

Another beautiful day, so I enjoyed some outdoor time and continued with some garden clean-up.  Lots of little birds at the feeders today, but nothing unusual for this time of year.  And since I've got all winter to photograph them, I think I'll stick with bugs just a bit longer.  And if you're interested, here's a shot of a late meadowhawk dragonfly, soaking up some sun on the lantana.  I even had a monarch passing through today - seems rather late so hope he makes it to Mexico.

Our nephew and his wife are arriving from Washington DC tonight and we are looking forward to having a great visit with them.  My nephew's 10 year reunion from his graduation at West Point is this weekend - I can't believe it's already been 10 years...  Anyway, so glad that they are stopping over to stay with us on their way to the reunion.

Talked to mom and dad this morning - they are on the road again, in their motor home and headed in a southerly direction.  Both have had colds, so they've been staying in a very nice RV park in Reno NV until they are feeling better - happily, they seem to have turned the corner on the colds now!

Happy Hump Day...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.