Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny things in the garden...

What a great day for the Tiny Tuesday challenge!  It was sunny and warm enough that a good number of pollinators were buzzing around the garden.  The three pots of Montauk daisies that I bought at Home Depot (dirt cheap since it's the end of the season) are turning out to be bee/hoverfly magnets.  They are perennials so they'll be going straight into the new garden as soon as the dirt is in.  

Anyhooo...this is a syrphid fly (also commonly called hoverfly, drone fly, flower fly).  I'm not sure of the genus - there are just so many of them that it's quite hard to tell - but if I had to guess, I'd say in the genus eristalis.  That doesn't make it a mystery, of course, but definitely tiny. I've posted a much smaller syrphid fly as well as a flying square-headed wasp on Flickr, starting HERE

As predicted, I feel back to normal today.  Which meant that I was up for doing some yard/garden clean up.  We had a light frost last night, so a few of the very tender stuff is done - I emptied those pots and put them in our shed where they will remain until spring.  I also received my order of seeds for the new garden, so have been sketching out where I want to plant things.  Very exciting!  

If anyone here has missed the latest from our fantastic team at Blipfoto, please do check out the blog which has info on the new membership plan/fees.  I've already signed up for paid membership and look forward to blipping for many years ahead!  I figure that if all of us who can afford to pay for our memberships do so, that will allow for free memberships for those who are not able to pay.  Seems fair and right.

Thanks again to JensPhotos for hosting this month.  In having a quick peak at the entries, I can see that she is going to have her work cut out for her once again this week...

Signing off,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.