Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird #42

This is our winter warbler, a highly adaptable species that will often be seen here into January - the Yellow-rumped Warbler.  Very cute birds and there were two of them zipping around in the garden today, catching unwary insects.  They also took time out to chase some of the titmice and at least one nuthatch - not sure what that was about, but it was pretty funny.  In addition to being my 42nd blipped yard bird, it is my 74th recorded species in the yard this year.  I doubt if I'll catch last year's high of 85 species, but it will still be a respectable number I guess.  

It was a productive day - I laid some mulch (ouch) and unpacked some boxes that had been sitting in the basement since we moved back from FL. Then, a friend called to tell me that two Great Cormorants had been seen at a lake near me - extremely rare birds this far inland and not a bird I've ever seen.  So, into the car, quick hike to the lake and - voila - Great Cormorants.  A rather poor photo can be seen HERE on Flickr - very heavily cropped.  

I also had a quick macro safari around the garden and caught a Sycamore Assassin bug doing what his kind does...with a hapless little metallic sweat bee.  Nature ain't for the faint of heart, but if you want to have a look, click HERE

Hubs is away tonight, so SIL will be holding down the fort.

Thanks for the love on my little bud yesterday.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.