Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Phoebe in the Rain

The remnants of Hurricane Michael arrived on the Lane today, resulting in steady, heavy rain for much of the day.  About the only decent part of the day was this morning...when I was at the dentists getting the prep work done for a crown.  I hate going to the dentist - truthfully, it turns me into a sniveling wimp.  But, obviously, I survived.

Once home, I grabbed the camera and stood under our canopy on the deck for a brief few minutes - long enough to nab a shot of this Eastern Phoebe (a flycatcher that summers here) with the colorful maple as a backdrop.  A short while later, when I was inside, I watched as he/she took a rain-bath on top of the cherry tree.  The only birds I've ever seen take rain baths are hummingbirds so it surprised me to see the phoebe out there fluffing and preening in a heavy rain.  Put a smile on my face.  

I've spent the last few hours inside, up in my sanctuary, working on paperwork and some miscellaneous things.  Also working on gathering all the photo equipment that will be traveling to Costa Rica with me at the end of the month ... all the months of anticipation and now the trip is nearly upon me!

Thanks for stopping by - much appreciated.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.