Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue Plate Special at the Montauk Diner

I know that predation shots aren't everyone's cup of tea, but I relish the chance to photograph natural moments like this.  I had been watching the Assassin Bug for several minutes as he maintained a completely motionless position on the flower.  And in the briefest of moments when I got distracted by something else, he grabbed a little Metallic Green Sweat Bee.  Wish I'd seen the grab, but at least I got a few good shots while he was subduing his prey.  In short order, he disappeared into a private booth under the leaf to enjoy his meal in private.  Hey, even assassin's have to eat!

The Montauk Daisies are just covered in little pollinators ...and little predators.  I spent more time than I'd care to admit crouched next to the big mounds of flowers, watching the comings and goings.  I found several interesting moths that I was subsequently able to identify (never easy with brown moths...).  I've posted them, and one of the dozen monarchs in the garden starting HERE on Flickr - 3 shots, nothing gruesome.  

I'm still waiting on Monarch #224 to make his grand appearance.  By my calculations, he (or she) should emerge in the next few days.  I'm hopeful that it will be tomorrow so he can join the larger group of migrants who are refueling here right now.  We'll see.  

Thanks, as always, for stopping by.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.