Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Working it

Had a bit of a slow day, which was not unexpected.  My post-brain tumor reality is that I am prone to fatigue when I have what my brain deems to be too much noise/motion/interaction.  It no longer takes me by surprise and I know that when I have an especially fun weekend with friends, I will have to pay a price later - all worth it.  By tomorrow I will feel just fine, with no harm done.  But today... well, I wasn't up for taking a hike and I didn't seem to have much patience to stalk things in the yard either.

So, when several bees came along, I was delighted.  I chose this honeybee for today's blip; although my second choice was a worker bumble bee, HERE on Flickr.  It was a bit of a coin-toss as to which to post as I like them both; but having just posted a bumble bee recently, I opted for the honeybee.  

A growing number of Purple Finches in the yard today, as well as the first two dark-eyed juncos of the fall/winter.  Lots of signs of autumn now with the winter sparrows and finches arriving and leaves falling.  

We ordered 10 cubic yards of top soil to be delivered Friday for my new garden.  Once we've spread it, I'll start planting some things that need the winter to get established (buddleia, phlox, bee balm, lupine and some hardy daisies.  I'll also sew the seeds that need cold stratification (most of them, in this case).  Is is wrong to say that I am anxious for spring already?  

If you're interested in seeing a few more shots from my weekend in DE, I've posted nine shots on Flickr starting HERE with a lighthouse.  

We suffered through watched last night's debate and learned very little new about either candidate.  Three more weeks until our elections...and so many more opportunities for embarrassment.  

Happy Monday, people.  And to all my Canadian friends, Happy Thanksgiving!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.