MarmiteGate

Taste buds are strange things. Whereas I seem to be out of kilter with coffee aficionados who cannot operate without a mugful of caffeine or tea jennies who think a cup of tea is the answer to the stresses of life, I do love Brussel Sprouts and Marmite, (separately, although I haven't tried them together), and so when I heard about the trade war between Unilever and Tesco resulting in jars of Marmite being withdrawn from sale, I panicked and bought an extra jar just in case.

You can imagine how I would react if there were a shortage of any other staple product- one of those annoying people who rush out and help clear the shelves in the local supermarket. Shameful behaviour really. However since Sainsbury's had an adequate pyramid of Marmite jars, I have no guilt in overstocking my cupboard.

I actually only bought one jar, the third one in the blip is empty and only kept because I like the iconic design and shape,and I can't bear to throw it out. Sooner or later His Lordship will complain about it taking up space and it will find its way into the bucket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.