A Right Royal Day!

I had planned a lazy morning of reading and nothing much else.....BUT......

I had a quick flick on Facebook whilst I was pondering getting out of bed and there was a post from the MEN saying that William and Kate were visiting Manchester today! Well, I was up, showered, dressed and on the bus into town with my camera before I knew it. They were going to a few places, but I headed to the Town Hall were they were going to the service for the laying of commemorative paving stones for Victoria Cross recipients who had been born in Manchester. 

I was there early enough to contemplate various spots. I had a chat with a policewoman and a marshall and they said where the best place was. We had a great laugh and a chat whilst we waited, there were some lovely people about. 

I love a military band and when they started playing Amazing Grace I was filling up, so was the woman next to me. We kept an eye on each other's mascara though. It was all very moving, Kate and William laid a wreath then saw each paving stone as a military representative told us of the amazing and heroic actions of the men that they were dedicated to. It was lovely.

I was feeling rather chilly after standing there for a couple of hours and so the woman I had been chatting to and I went off for a hot drink to warm up. Then we joined the crowds at the front of the Town Hall to see the royal couple leave. We couldn't get near the front to get good shots but we saw them do their walkabout before they left for their next appointment. 

What an unexpectedly grand day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.