Emerson's Cat Cave

Dear Diary,

Cats do like to nap and Emerson has many places that he can retreat to for a snooze.  This is his "cat cave".  It is under a table in the sitting room and I've made it nice and comfy with a pillow and blanket.  The table is covered by a shawl I bought in Russia.  It makes a perfect hide out for my little boy.

We had a killing frost last night so the flowers are finished now.  It is time.  When I went out to feed the birds this morning I could feel that we have turned a corner.  I haven't seen Gaylord or Squirrel Nutkin yet this year.  I do hope they turn up soon although that means my sunflower seed purchases will increase.  They are most welcome visitors though and I miss them in the summer.

Soon I will start lighting a fire at night in the old wood stove.  That is another smell of autumn I love.  David will be here soon to split the wood he cut and stack it in the barn cellar.  Summer is over and now we settle in for the "in between" time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.