A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Horsedance

Our second day at the Olympics and again at the equestrian arena in Greenwich Park (but then, it was E buying the tickets). I'd not been entirely sure about the dressage event, even if this was the Freestyle version (to music).

Anyway, I was very glad to be there. While I've no idea about dressage the skill of the riding to achieve the movements was impressive, and I could at least feel I had an opinion bout the choice of music and the merit of the performance relative to it.

The music is tricky because you need frequent changes of rhythm. Some seemed to have taken random styles and sources and compiled them in a hurry. I'm sure that wasn't the case, but some choices were just plain distracting. Others, had created quite a nice montages (one using different parts of the Lion King music, for example).

I was amused by one subtle joke - the horse Damon Hill using music from the Bourne trilogy (lead actor Matt Damon), as well as explicit motor racing themes.

No idea how the result was arrived at, but it was emotional winning the gold (Charlotte Dujardin above) and bronze and sharing in the winners' obvious joy.

--
Interested how many photos I have where the horse is completely in the air in what seems a smooth and steady pace and little effort. I guess that's the point.

--
I thought I'd like to remember the visits here with a T shirt. OK, so the price is a ripoff way to support the sponsors games. but did they have anything in a medium of a style suiting someone older than 15?

How can they possibly have run out with days to go (and the paralympics to follow).

Sellers on eBay are making a killing (not from me I hasten to add). Not sure that's what's supposed to happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.