Gig

I paid two visits to Shrewsbury today.  The first to have my hair done and much needed too as I hadn't been for 10 weeks so after Sam snipped away and performed his bit of magic, I look and feel a little more kempt now.  Home for half past four to have a quick change, pick up Mr T and together we returned to Shrewsbury for an early supper and then a visit to The Hive for an evening of jazz.   

In 2006 and 2007 I attended a Jazz Summer School in the Dordogne run by the very people who were playing tonight, The Andrea Vicari Band.  I hadn't seen any of the Band since 2007 so it was a very special evening and there were quite a few folks in the audience who were at the Summer School when I was there, so not only was the Jazz amazing but it was fantastic to catch up with old music friends again.

*Extra of moi and our workshop group, including Andrea on keyboards, playing our hearts out for the last number on our last evening - everyone got up to dance and a very, very late night ensued, as I remember!!!

PS.  Anyone interested in improving their jazz improvisation techniques, or indeed want to learn just how to do it, then the DJSS is a wonderful place to go, in fabulous surroundings with wonderful like-minded people, and it's open to all abilities .....  not that I'm advertising, or anything!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.