Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

'Shoom with Whiskers

With a "To Do" list a mile long, I headed out for coffee and what was meant to be a quick photo shoot to Fleet Pond in Hampshire.  The surrounding woodlands are still not showing much autumn colour, but the floor was abundant with fungi, and I was in my element. A glance at my watch said it was around 1pm - plenty of time for a few shots and still get home in time for chores.  The next time I looked at my watch it was ... around 1pm.  Oops - battery gone - the mobile phone said 4:30 :-)

Still, I got some great shots of some more unusual fungi.  These little bonnets took my eye as one of them seemed to be sprouting whiskers.  Someone on facebook identified them for me as  Spinellus fusiger, a parasite that attacks mushrooms, and particularly prefers Mycena such as these. Another larger, as yet unidentified, clump of fungi in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.