Waiting For Godwits

I went to Heybridge Basin today as I fancied shooting waders. It was nearly high tide when I arrived and a stiff breeze was blowing. Lots of craft were plying The Blackwater, some racing. I haven't been sailing for ten years but I really fancied taking to the water today. I watched an Enterprise dinghy rounding a mark. MrQ took me out in his when we first met and we capsized. Though he had sailed it at National level he had graduated to a Flying Dutchman, a larger and much more stable boat, and had forgotten how topsy-turvy the Enterprise is in comparison.

I saw a beautiful 42 foot yacht, Sunbeat VI. We used to sail in company with friends who had a Contessa 32 called Sunbeat II when they bought it. The Sunbeat guy, now on yacht number six, is obviously doing well and still enjoying his sailing.

As it was high tide the waders were crammed onto islands in the lagoon fast asleep. The black-tailed godwits had their heads tucked under their wings. The only bird that's awake in my pic is the odd one out, a peewit.

I had a lovely walk along the sea wall and by the time I got back to the godwits the tide had already turned and gone out quite a bit. I stood and waited, knowing that they would soon wake up, take to the air and resume feeding.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.