Stone Me! New Bird, Nice Chat

I photographed some late grasshoppers in our disused carpark this morning and planned to blip one of them, until I went for a quick walk at Amwell Nature Reserve this afternoon. 

The reserve is unusually quiet and I don't often bother to linger at the viewing point as any birds are too far away for decent shots anyway. I had a cursory glance and movement in the reeds caught my eye. I trained my 400mm lens on it and when I looked at the screen, I saw an enchanting little bird with an orange brown breast, white scarf and dark head. I'd never seen the like before. 

A man, who I have met in hides in the past, turned up and identified it as a stonechat. It got that name as its call sounds like two stones being struck together. We spent a very pleasant time trying to capture this bird at the furthest reach of our kit and chatting togging. It was lovely when the female turned up and in the pic I've posted, a wren has got in on the act too. The female stonechat is on the left. 

I did get a couple of pics where the stonechats came a bit closer but I've posted the trio as it's a bit of a coup to get the three in the same frame, though the quality is poor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.