Grape(vine)shot

Backblip.

I was asked to take pics at my granddaughter's school Chamber Concert. The Old Hall was absolutely packed and unfortunately the Head of Music hadn't managed to reserve a seat for me in the front row as usual. I really struggled from a few rows back. I've ended up with lots of images that need big noses, bald heads, lurid accessories and jutting spectacles to be cropped out. (These belong to the audience not the students I might add.) The music was wonderful though. I loved the Jewish wedding piece played by the Brass Group and I could see that my daughter was moved by the Advanced Wind rendition of Feed The Birds. She's a real Mary Poppins fan. I was too far from my granddaughter, who was playing her clarinet, to get a decent shot.

Hornets and red admirals were enjoying the ripe grapes on the back-door vine this morning. I love the way grape leaves colour up in autumn, it takes a lot to put a red admiral in the shade. :)

Today's poem is Leave Me, O Love by Sir Philip Sidney. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/45167/leave-me-o-love-which-reachest-but-to-dust

"In this poem, Sidney yearns for the higher love of God to lift him above the passing nature of earth’s charms. He desires a release from the lowliness of the temporal world so that he may seek the eternal realm and a sacred love that will last forever. Sidney was was almost certainly an influence on William Shakespeare, who was ten years his junior." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.